Wojanów Palace

Wojanów Palace

Wojanów Palace is a beautiful park and palace complex, located on the Bóbr River in the small village of Wojanów in Lower Silesia, about 10 km from Jelenia Góra. The building is distinguished by its fairy-tale appearance as well as its scale - together with the neighbouring buildings and park, it covers an area of 16 hectares. The palace currently serves as a conference and hotel facility. The hotel base has over 180 beds including suites, premium rooms and standard rooms. The palace has two restaurants with 200 and 50 seats. At the larger of the restaurants, there is a well-stocked buffet and a dance floor with good music. In addition, there is a café, a wine bar, a spa with a charming large swimming pool, a jacuzzi, massage rooms and a multi-purpose fitness room, as well as outdoor tennis courts. Two concert halls with 200 and 50 seats are available for a wide range of cultural activities.


The first mention of the Wojanów estate dates back to 1281, when the land was owned by Eberhard von Schildau. The first palace was erected here in 1607. It was initiated by Nikolaus von Zedlitz und Nimmersatt, but the residence was completely destroyed during the Swedish Deluge. The palace - in its Baroque form, which can now only be admired in its interiors - was built by Christoph von Zedlitz in 1667.

In 1754, Wojanow was acquired by the merchant Daniel von Buchs, who had the palace rebuilt in the Baroque style. The Wojanów estate was acquired in 1817 by Karl Sigismund von Rothkirch, followed by Karl Albrecht Ike, who modernised the palace and established a landscape park between 1832 and 1833. The building was rebuilt in the spirit of neo-Gothic classicism. The project was designed by an architect from the circle of Karl Friedrich Schinkel.

From the 18th century onwards, the estate changed owners several times. In the first half of the 19th century, the exterior of the estate was rebuilt in neo-Gothic fashion thanks to the idea of the next owner, Karl Albrecht Ike. He also established a large landscape park.

In 1839, Princess Louise of the Netherlands received the Wojanów Palace as a gift from her father, King Frederick William III of Prussia. It was then decided to rebuild the palace, adapting the residence to its new function. In the 1830s and 1840s, the park was transformed according to plans by Peter Joseph Lenne. The palace remained in the hands of the royal family until 1908, when the last heiress, Maria zu Wied, sold the estate.

After World War II, the residence became the property of the state. Since 2004, the palace has been privately owned, and renovation work carried out between 2005 and 2007 restored it to its former glory.